bflorenthal's Blog

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

iBooks Author – Part 1

Leave a comment

20130714-153057.jpg

I require my students to do group projects in my marketing management course and I have been posting Word and PowerPoint documents on Blackboard with instructions and material related to the project every semester. My project has three parts where students work on a different part of the project at a different time during the semester so they don’t need to do all the requirements of the project at the end of the semester. Therefore, I have a significant amount of material that I prepared for this project and which I post throughout the semester.

This week I decided to create an iBook for my project using iBooks Author app on my Mac. I wanted to have all the material in one place and be able to show everything on my iPad when I teach in class. Also, those who have iPads, iPhones, and Macs (with the upcoming OS) will be able to access my iBook through iBooks app. Those that do not have Apple devices will be able to open my iBook as a PDF file.

I was surprised how easy it was to start an iBook on iBooks Author especially as I had all my material already created in Word and PowerPoint documents. So basically I copied and pasted most of it. One feature I really like in iBooks Author app is the interactive images widget. It gives me the opportunity to post and example and explain different parts of it.

I downloaded two free iBooks explaining how to use iBooks Author app and I also watched an hour long webinar I found on YouTube. But I really could do most of the work in iBooks Author app without learning all the details. I believe that having a Mac and working on iWork files was helpful because many of the features in iBooks Author are similar to those in Pages.

I was inspired to start this iBook when I saw a video about a high school teacher that created an iBook for her class and because all students in that school receive iPads, they could use her iBook during class activities.

I am not sure how the students in my classes will respond to this but I am actually having a lot of fun creating this iBook. Please shear your experiences if you used iBooks Author app.

Author: bflorenthal

I am a teacher and I like to use and read about the latest technologies. I love to use my iPad and other Apple products.

Leave a Reply

