bflorenthal's Blog

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Teaching with the App GoodNotes

2 Comments

I recently rediscovered the app GoodNotes. I had this app for a while and used it in the past but was not aware of all the great features till lately. The first time I tried it was in a practicum course where I need to comment on PowerPoint slides. The app works with DropBox and can import PPT as well as PDF files. I could use a stylus or my finger to make comments on the PPT file.

As my handwriting is not always so great, especially when using a stylus, I in particularly like the feature that allowed to type comments on any part of the PPT slide. Just by pressing my finger on a particular space options of either to insert text or images appear.

Another feature I recently discovered is the option to make straight lines and geometric figures. Even if you draw an awfully crooked line or circle, your drawing is miraculously turns into a perfect line or circle. I used this option for demonstrations to clarify concepts. Also this option is very handy to cross out something on a PPT slide. Finally, if you combine this option with the highlight option, the highlight comes out as a straight line which can be nice when you read PDF files.

One last feature I want to mention is the ease of importing and exporting the files. You can send it via email as a PDF file or save it to the Dropbox.

I’ll keep playing with this app to get more out of it. If you have more ideas please share.

Author: bflorenthal

I am a teacher and I like to use and read about the latest technologies. I love to use my iPad and other Apple products.

2 thoughts on “Teaching with the App GoodNotes

  1. A friend referred me to this resource. Thnx for the details.

  2. Hi there you have a fantastic website over here! Thanks for sharing this interesting stuff for us! If you keep up this great work I’ll visit your website again. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

