bflorenthal's Blog

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Blackboard Collaborare

Leave a comment

A few days ago I conducted a committee meeting through Blackboard (Bb) Collaborate. Our school acquired this software a while ago and we did not get a proper training to use it. Basically, this software is a way to conduct meetings and classes online in real time.

We started to experiment with this software a couples of months ago during our Technology Across Curriculum committee. At those meetings we combined face-to-face and Bb Collaborate meetings. Some people came in and some joined on-line.

This time, as a co-chair of the committee, I decided to conduct the entire meeting online. I was the moderator and recorded the meeting. I watched the tutorial videos placed on our IRT website and I made the session available for a couple of days in advance so that our members could experience it before the actual meeting.

Most members joined the session during our meeting and the participation rate was high. Some people spoke using their microphones but most exchanged ideas and commented through the chat option. Several members joined through their mobile devices. We accomplished a lot during this meeting and the meeting was very successful.

I recommend to try this software for meetings especially if it is integrated into the School’s Bb website.

Our committee has an established Bb organization so I posted the Bb Collaborate link on the organization’s webpage for an easy access.

I am still learning different functions that can be used through Bb Collaborate, but the more I use it the easier it becomes.

Let me know if you had any experience with this software and how you liked it.

Author: bflorenthal

I am a teacher and I like to use and read about the latest technologies. I love to use my iPad and other Apple products.

Leave a Reply

