bflorenthal's Blog

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Course Twitter and Hurricane Sandy

Leave a comment

I am without Wi-Fi, TV cables, and phone line since the storm. Our school has been canceled for the entire week and the only way I feel I can communicate with my students is through twitter on my iPad. I connected our course twitter to the hurricane twitter and the weather channel twitter during the weekend of the storm. After the storm was gone, I connect our course twitter to the electricity company’s twitter and the local news twitter. I want to teach the students how twitter can be a great source of current information. I’ll use this opportunity to discuss the power of twitter in my classes when the university opens.
Interestingly enough, many students in my classes do not have twitter account and they don’t really know how it works. I am doing a research project on twitter and it is reported that more adults (30+) use twitter than younger people (teens and college students).

Author: bflorenthal

I am a teacher and I like to use and read about the latest technologies. I love to use my iPad and other Apple products.

Leave a Reply

