bflorenthal's Blog

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Why Mobile Will Transform Learning: The Classroom of the Future

Leave a comment

Why Mobile Will Transform Learning

20121027-130330.jpg

It looks like learning how to teach with my iPad is really timely. Thought the article focuses on K-12 education, I believe we are in the same boat with respect to utilizing mobile devices of students in our classrooms.

I am still thinking how to increase students’ involvement in the class using their mobile devices. I have a restriction in my syllabus for mobile and laptop usage in the classroom but I can see now that it is a lost cause. The only way to deal with this phenomenon is to leverage it. I am experimenting with twitter and right now I just give students assignments to post something related to our material on twitter but it is done outside of the classroom.

I heard that some professors have the twitter open during their class time and students can participate in class posting their comments on the class twitter. I would like to try that. Is there anybody who tried to do this successfully?

Please share your thoughts.

Author: bflorenthal

I am a teacher and I like to use and read about the latest technologies. I love to use my iPad and other Apple products.

Leave a Reply

