bflorenthal's Blog

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Teaching with my iPad – Post #5

Leave a comment

I teach Marketing Management course and I like to discuss most current developments inImage technology and other marketing areas. I opened a twitter account for our course and require students to follow, if they have a twitter account for the duration of our course. I give them twitting assignments but I also tweet when I see a relevant article that touches upon one of the issues we discussed in class or if it somehow can relate to our course material.

As I give my students 5-10 minutes to come into class before I start to teach, I use this time to go over the tweets students or I posted on the course twitter. It initiates a discussion and warms up students toward our class. The more I do it, the more students check out the articles I tweet outside of the classroom. The first 5-10 minutes of informal discussion about the tweets is also very beneficial in enhancing the class interaction. I use the twitter app on my iPad and it works very well. 

Today I showed students how easy it is to tweet from different apps on my iPad, such as from Pulse (a news curator).

Does anyone else use twitter in class?

 

Author: bflorenthal

I am a teacher and I like to use and read about the latest technologies. I love to use my iPad and other Apple products.

Leave a Reply

