bflorenthal's Blog

This WordPress.com site is the bee's knees

Teaching with my iPad – Post #4

2 Comments

ImageI use video clips in my classes to illustrate the ideas in the textbook. This week we were watching two video clips. One was a funny video clip called ‘First look: iPhone 5’ which showed how people on the streets were mistaking iPhone 4S for iPhone 5 and praising it. Students loved this one. I used my frequency app to show it as I put this video in my favorites.

Frequency is a great app that allows you to watch video clips from different channels. You can choose the channels. I use it to update myself with the latest tech videos and to save to favorites those that might be handy for my teaching. I tried other video apps but frequency is my favorite.

The other video I showed was through YouTube website that I also saved to my favorites. Since iOS 6 does not offer YouTube app for the iPad, I put the YouTube website as an icon on my home screen to get into YouTube quickly when I need to. It worked pretty well in my class though I did not like the fact that I could not open the video to its full screen (like when I watch movies).

I love the fact that I can move quickly from my Keynote slides to video clips in various location (apps or websites). I also like it that I can preparing everything in advance by leaving the apps/website open exactly where I need them to be.

Please feel free to comment and/or suggest other options to enhance the iPad experience while teaching.

When I used the desktop in my class, I used to put all my material (files and links) on Blackboard. It was not a bad experience but sometimes the websites did not load quickly enough (the desktop is somewhat old) and some of the content did not load well as I had to use explorer.

I feel I have much more choices now.

Author: bflorenthal

I am a teacher and I like to use and read about the latest technologies. I love to use my iPad and other Apple products.

2 thoughts on “Teaching with my iPad – Post #4

  1. I’ve just downloaded eClicker for use in my classroom. It looks like a very simple app that I can use to poll my class with quiz style questions throughout my lecture.

    Also, I just released my first iBook for use with the classroom, The Thirteenth Labor of Heracles. It can be found at:
    http://itunes.apple.com/us/book/thirteenth-labor-heracles/id567932090?ls=1

  2. Our college purchased clickers. I never used them. eClicker system sounds interesting. When you use eClicker app which host app you use? As I understand you need the host app to post questions and the client for students to answer.

Leave a Reply

